Big Island2018-06-03T19:32:41+00:00
kona hawaii

big island of hawaii
La’aloa Kona Vacation Home is located within walking distance to White Sands Beach Park. Use the above map to zoom in or out as you explore The Big Island. Below are some of our favorite scenes on The Big Island … (Vacation ideas:

Hawaiʻi is the largest island located in the U.S. state of Hawaii. It is the largest and the southeastern-most of the Hawaiian islands, a chain of volcanic islands in the North Pacific Ocean. With an area of 4,028 square miles (10,430 km2), it is larger than all of the other islands in the archipelago combined and is the largest island in the United States. The island of Hawaii is the third largest island in Polynesia, behind the two main islands of New Zealand.

The island is often referred to as the Island of Hawaiʻi, the Big Island, or Hawaiʻi Island to distinguish between the island and the state.

Three routes connect the two major towns, Hilo on the east coast and Kailua-Kona on the west coast of the island:
State highways 19 & 190, the northern route via Waimea
State highway 11, the southern route via Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Saddle Road (aka the Daniel K. Inouye Memorial highway), passing between Mauna Loa and Mauna Kea),
There are also State highways 270 (Kawaihae – Hawi) and 180 (the “Kona coffee road”, from Honalo to State highway 190), South Point Road (Highway 11 to South Point).

There are presently three Hawaii Scenic Byways on the island of Hawaii:
Mamalahoa Kona Heritage Center
Royal Footsteps Along the Kona Coast
Ka’u Scenic Byway – The Slopes of Mauna Loa
Rental car offices are at the international airports. Taxi service is also available. Island-wide bus service is provided by the “Hele-On Bus”.

Two commercial airports serve Hawaiʻi Island:
Hilo International Airport (ITO)
Kona International Airport (KOA)

There is also:
Waimea-Kohala Airport (MUE)
Upolu Airport (UPP)

Major commercial ports are Hilo on the East side and Kawaihae on the West side of the island. Cruise ships often stop at Kailua-Kona.

The Island of Hawaiʻi is built from five separate shield volcanoes that erupted somewhat sequentially, one overlapping the other. These are (from oldest to youngest):

Mauna Kea—dormant
Mauna Loa—active, partly within Hawaiʻi Volcanoes National Park
Kīlauea—active: has been erupting continuously since 1983; part of Hawaiʻi Volcanoes National Park